Polywrap .NET client proposal

OVERVIEW

A Polywrap .NET C# client will expand the project market, reaching: gaming industry, mobile, IOT, robotics, asp.net web and all sizes enterprises; .NET C# is also one of the most used languages worldwide.

ABOUT ME

I’m Marco Negroni, Senior .NET and Web3 full stack developer, Tech researcher; I have about 10 years of professional experience, I’m also a member of dOrg, for more information about me and my experience please check my resume.

My resume: CV_MARCO_NEGRONI.pdf - Google Drive

Linkedin: https://www.linkedin.com/in/lordmarkdev/

SPECIFICATIONS

Since the goal of Polywrap is to be cross-platform, makes sense to develop the .NET client using C# language and .NET Standard 2.0 as framework.

Building it as .NET Standard 2.0 library allows the client to be referenced and executed on basically any kind of architecture (x86, x64, arm, etc…), covering any operating system (Linux, Mac, IOS, Android, Windows).

.NET Standard 2.0 can be referenced by the latest versions of: .NET Core, .NET 5, .NET 6, Xamarin.IOS, Xamarin.Android, Xamarin.Mac, Mono, UWP and Unity; making it completely cross-platform with one single code base.

For more information: .NET Standard | Microsoft Docs

There is no official support to execute WASM by Microsoft, but there are several open source libraries that allows that, for example:

basically all uses an external runtime (wrapped C WASM runtime) to be imported/referenced, but not this one: GitHub - RyanLamansky/dotnet-webassembly: Create, read, modify, write and execute WebAssembly (WASM) files from .NET-based applications.

it allows to create, read, modify, write and execute a WASM from 100% managed .NET code, is more portable, giving access to clear .NET sources; it is also maintained and up to date (basically converts WASM assembly to IL that then is JIT compiled and executed).

So I think that it is better to evaluate dotnet-webassembly first.